Measure J - Citizens' Oversight Committee (COC)

Citizens' Oversight Committee Meetings

Date Agenda  Minutes
May 26, 2015  Agenda   Minutes
 April 12, 2016 Agenda   Minutes
December 5,2016 Agenda  Minutes
 February 9, 2017 Agenda  Minutes
June 1, 2017  Agenda Minutes
 January 30, 2018 Agenda Minutes
February 27, 2018 Agenda Minutes
 March 20, 2018 Agenda Minutes
 April 24, 2018 Agenda Minutes
 October 23, 2018  Agenda  


COC - Measure J Bond Plan

Bond Plan - April of 2018

Board Approval of the Citizens' Oversight Committee

At the June 6, 2017 Board of Education meeting, the Board approved the new Citizens' Oversight Committee for a term of 7-1-2017 through 6-30-2019.  The approved members of the committee are:

-Phil Caruthers       -Dennis Corte         -Bob Daddi
-Josh Griffen          -Dave Intner           -Linda Jordan
-Salvador Rivera    -Ginny Rockefeller   -Suzi Taylor


June 2017 Citizen's Oversight Committee Annual Report 

At the June 1, 2017 Citizens' Oversight Committee meeting the COC approved the 2016-2017 annual report of the committee which details the implementation of Measure J Bond improvements to our schools. From inception in 2015 until August 31, 2016, $422,314.90 has been spent on improvements throughout the Ojai Unified School District.

Board Approval of the Citizens' Oversight Committee

At the March 11, 2015 Board Meeting the Board approved the recommended current committee members:

-Nicole Botti         -Phil Caruthers    -Dennis Corte
-Bob Daddi          -Josh Griffen        -Dave Intner
-Michael Laber    -Jeff Palmer         -Sarah Turner


Board Approval of the Application Process for the Citizens' Oversight Committee

At the December 9, 2014 Board Meeting the Board approved the application criteria and process for the Citizens’ Oversight Committee; 16 applications were received. A subcommittee interviewed all 16 applicants. The subcommittee was co-chaired by Jane Weil and Kevin Ruf and included Dr. Bangser, Director of Maintenance Operations and Transportation Josh Brown-Koenig, and community members Glenn Fout and Bill Gilbreth.

The subcommittee found that every applicant was superbly qualified to serve. We hope those who were not selected will stay interested as the committee members will need to be replaced every two years. The subcommittee members considered having a 16-person committee but felt such a large group would be difficult to operate.